Inspiring Classroom Spaces

Inspiring Classroom Spaces

By Malinda Papol, Second Grade Teacher

We all spend time decorating our home to create a sanctuary we can relax and feel safe in. Why not do the same for our classroom, our home away from home? Thoughtfully organized, creative spaces can spark interest in student’s learning. HGTV and the DIY networks are not only for your home; they are for your classroom!

I needed something new and refreshing after a decade and a half of teaching. What I found was the more organized my classroom became, the more pride my students took in their work; they were more responsible with classroom supplies, and they kept their desks more organized. Improving a classroom’s design, lighting, and decorations, seemed to boost student learning and motivation.

Get inspired to get started. Search Pinterest, websites like www.schoolgirlsytle.com, and catalogs like Really Good Stuff. See what sparks your interest and choose three to four colors to be your theme. Declutter. Get rid of those old manuals you haven’t touched. Add accent lamps, curtains, flowers, chair covers; hang lanterns from the ceiling; and hide supplies in big fabric bins. Reuse old items. A 99 cent can of spray paint will come in handy. Create small seating areas using storage ottomans, and maintain separate spaces by using pops of color and area rugs.

I wanted a space that I was motivated to come to and spend my days working. Now, not only do I love my classroom and the calming feeling I get when I walk into it, but parents, students, teachers, and administrators echo the same sentiments.

papol a

The small carpet at the front of the room with movable ottomans can be used for partners to play games, partner read, or work together. The flowers next to the lamp are actually pens!

 

 

 

 

papol b

This view is from the front door of my classroom. Hanging lanterns create an enticing pop of color opposite the back carpet. The chair covers at desks give students their own sense of space and organization.

 

 

 

 

libarThis is the student’s library area. Ottomans and an area rug create small reading areas. Black paint and magnetic borders are the finishing touches to bookshelves and the teacher’s desk. Some fabric hides messy bookshelves. A lamp, a deal on Craigslist, creates a homelike feel. Curtains from Walmart are the finishing touch. I used frames from the Dollar Store– took out the glass for safety purposes – and hung my class rules.

 

 

 

 

 

 

chairsI purchased inexpensive chairs, which I found on an online yard sale site to use as the “teacher’s chairs.” I spray-painted them and put new fabric on them. I recycled an old toy box and spray-painted it to use near my desk. I hide my everyday teacher manuals in it, and it provides the students a small space to sit and read, play games, or work with each other. Near the bookshelf I have an inspirational wall space covered with quotes from various people of different cultures. I framed them with frames I bought at the Dollar Store and, again, I removed the glass.

 

 

 

 

 

papol eStorage ottomans at the back carpet can be arranged in a circle. My second reading group works in this circle while I read with a group at the reading table. All math supplies are kept in the fabric bins on top of the file cabinets. My husband built a castle, which is always reserved for the “Star of the Week” in my class.

 

 

 

 

papol fThis is the back sink area and reading table. Mirrors help create an open space. All guided reading books are kept in an open shelf in black folders for a cohesive look.

 

 

 

 

 

papol gFile folder pocket charts hold Reader’s and Writer’s Workshop folders and are attached to the metal cabinet that holds all writing supplies. The custom-made writing poster is large. I laminated the entire poster and hung it with Velcro.

 

 

 

 

front of classThe view is of the front of the classroom. Goals for each subject are written on whiteboards and can easily be changed on the bulletin board to the left. Information about the “Star of the Week” is showcased on the bulletin board to the right. A Pocket chart holds the daily schedule.

One thought on “Inspiring Classroom Spaces

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *